Branding for SNFAS

LOGOThe other night I was fiddling around with some stuff for this website and realized that I’ve never taken the time to brand my blog. It never even occurred to me to do so! Logo design has never really been one of my things; I am much more of a layout designer. But the exercise felt valuable and necessary. And it actually reminded me of the time I did a personal project to Brand Minnesota. It was fun to get back to that form.

Initially I was just going to do some sort of little type treatment against a series of neat backdrops, but it evolved into this whole logo with a few layers of significance. “Strange News from Another Star” is a song by Blur but also originally a collection of stories (that, full disclosure, I’m not really familiar with). I mainly chose the title because I liked it, and I never pass up an opportunity to reference song titles.

blogsample

The three little trees represent my little family (and Alan’s and my wedding logo was two trees, and now we have a third one). The middle tree doubles as an arrow (I have an arrow tattooed on my wrist; I also like it for its vague medieval-ness) and points North, towards the Little Dipper and Polaris because Minnesota is the North Star State 😎.

 

HEADER_small4

Now the header of the blog has a rotating series of headers (either with some of my landscape photography or some textures I have in my arsenal) with my tagline; “Design, Photo, Motherhood, Cabins.” All told it took only a few hours to make this thing look mad legit, and I like it so much I added it to my portfolio! What do you guys think?

LOGO-2

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Design, Meta

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

