Radish Toasts

RADISHTOASTS-10RADISHTOASTS-13

Another in the recipe and food photography series my sister Addie and I are collaborating on. This one is basically foolproof and I recommend it for breakfast or snacks or lunch! It’s really delightful. I’ll let Addie take it away:

 

Radish Toasts

Prep: 5 min | Total: 5 min

This is barely a recipe, but I started making these the first summer that I subscribed to a CSA and I had all these radishes that I wasn’t sure what to do with. I always had leftover bread from work (ed note: she used to work at a bakery/cafe. She does now, but she used to, too!), so I decided to make some spring radish toasts. RADISHTOASTS-2RADISHTOASTS-3Pea shoots are my favorite garnish, but I used chive blossoms here as well, which lends a great onion flavor. Using whole-milk ricotta really makes a difference, but feel free to use skim milk ricotta if you’d prefer. RADISHTOASTS-9The squeeze of lemon at the end definitely changes the whole flavor of the toast, so don’t skip that step! (This same recipe works really well with english cucumbers in place of the radishes).

Ingredients

Hearty multigrain bread (I used a multigrain bread from Rustica)
French breakfast radishes (one full sized french breakfast radish usually covers a small piece of toast, so 3-4 for three slices of toast will suffice)
Whole milk ricotta
Fresh lemon

For garnish
Pea shoots, chive blossoms, microgreens, sunflower sprouts, or fresh herbsRADISHTOASTS-6RADISHTOASTS-5RADISHTOASTS-8

Method

Slice bread into about 3/4” thick slices and toast (if you’re making a really large quantity of these, toast them in the oven on a sheet tray at 350 for about 10 minutes, or until they’re looking crispy and brown). Meanwhile, slice your radishes into small coins, thick enough that they still retain their crunch. Spread a thick layer of ricotta on the bread once it’s fresh out of the toaster and arrange the radishes on the toast, and give a generous spritz of lemon over each toast. Salt and pepper, and top with garnish.RADISHTOASTS-12RADISHTOASTS-14

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Recipe

1 Comment

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

