Spring Evenings

SPRINGFLOWERS-3SPRINGFLOWERS-4Spring evenings are so magical, aren’t they? These photos were taken a couple weekends ago, after a long day where I had a bachelorette party and Alan’s longtime good pals came to visit… We fed Alex some avocado (which he ate willingly), and then bath time and bed. These still, golden evenings are some of my favorite things. It’s such a precarious time of year too. Mother’s Day weekend saw extreme heat and humidity, and then quickly that turned to cold and rainy for DAYS. Ugh, the dreariness.

It felt like growing up, I could rely on Minnesota winters being cold and snowy, and then the gradual melting in March would mean you could wear a t-shirt outdoors even though it was only 40 degrees. Then April would see rain and things slowly coming to life. All of a sudden, you drive down the street and you’re under a canopy of green. Green and life is bursting everywhere, and the warm evenings were filled with smells of lilacs.

Maybe it’s because I’m older, or the seasons are actually changing their patterns, but it feels like that experience doesn’t manifest itself in the same way. I mean, this past winter started out strong but ended with a thud. It was 60 degrees in February. It was 45 degrees in May. I don’t know what’s what anymore.

All I know is that when these magical evenings occur, I have a little sit and I just look at it, and I smell it, and I feel it on my skin. SPRINGFLOWERS-13SPRINGFLOWERS-14.jpg

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Seasonal // Spring

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

