What Are We Watching This Fall?

lead_960.jpg

Back in the spring I was talking about some shows that Alan and I regularly indulge in (I actually only watched the second season of Catastrophe last week. Oops!) But with our days being fairly low key lately and gearing up to be even more homebodies than ever, I thought I’d talk about TV some more.

Is there anything more wonderful than a good, can’t-stop-watching-it TV show? I contest that there is not. About a month ago we started watching Narcos (or Bad Hombres as I’m calling it now) and blazed through the first two seasons. It fits so neatly into that “Binge-worthy” category. Not sure if I would throw the “prestige” label on it, per se, but it’s pretty damn good. Plus, Pedro Pascal is muy guapo and Pablo Escobar’s dorky dad sweaters and grumpy cat mustache are 🔥 Streaming on Netflix

narcos-201-pablo.gif

I cannot.

The Walking Dead is coming back this Sunday.  Truth be told, I was actually not so furious about the mid-season finale as most people were (I guess me and Chris Hardwick are both schmucks). It seems powerfully uncool to actively be a fan of this show, kind of like Coldplay, but I’ll unapologetically watch it to the end, and I’ll read the think pieces. One complication this Sunday is that I could be in labor and miss it! Maybe it wouldn’t be the worst thing? Sundays, AMC

Westworld is an interesting slow burn. We’re watching with detached interest at the moment, but I think/hope it’ll be a worthwhile investment. I wasn’t sure what kind of person the concept of “Westworld” was appealing to (because, uh, the Old West cosplay? Snooze!), until it became clear to me that it’s basically the fantasy of living in an open world video game. I could see the appeal in that, if it were Skyrimworld. Sundays, HBO160730-westworld-news.jpg

Last Week Tonight, Full Frontal with Samantha Bee, and The Daily Show. Seems odd to be talking about non-serialized shows, but we’ve been watching these shows pretty obsessively. Alan is BIG into politics and by and I’m pretty sucked in too. The only way we can sustain in these trying times is to laugh and have our frustrations echoed and validated by people who are funnier than us. While Trevor Noah is no Jon Stewart, he’s actually been doing decently with this election, even though I’d say TDS is probably the weaker of the bunch. Sundays, HBO; Mondays, TBS; Nightly, Comedy Central.

Vikings is another show, like Walking Dead or Game of Thrones where I think after a while the fantasy/escapism overshadows the content and I think “Is this show actually good?” Whether it is or not, we’re pretty hooked, and I like how liberal they are with time jumps. It’s comin’ back in November! Thursdays, History

It’s not out yet, but I’m so excited for The Crown. I am deeply fascinated by the British royal family and royal history in general. I think this series looks super interesting and beautiful. On Netflix November 4

There’s still some shows that I haven’t gotten around to that I really want to check out, like The Americans. I’m thinking that with a baby around I’ll at least have a lot of downtime. AND I’m very stoked that Vulture put out this article about a bunch of good shows to stream. Score!!

So what are you watching lately?

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

pop culture, TV

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

