Does This Space Need a Rug?

livingroom-2I’ve been having a thing for big area rugs lately, since we bought a fun shaggy one for the kid’s room, and we recently installed one in our bedroom, which I got at the time on sale. I feel like a nice area rug is a good, simple way to punch up a space without overwhelming it too much. It’s a way to add texture and warmth or perhaps a sole pop of color. I’ve been looking at the dining room as a possible vehicle for such a rug. The floors are in pretty rough shape, after all, and the room – which I love – is very much monochromatic at the moment. LIVINGROOM-1.jpgI don’t know how adventurous I’m willing to be, and rugs do require extra maintenance, which we’ve found can be a difficult task if the state of our FLOR rugs are any indication. But I started seeing big vintage patterned rugs being used in otherwise modern spaces like on Calivintage (she has a lot of cool rugs in her home). So I’ve rounded up some rugs (wonder how many times I can say “rugs” in this post) that have caught my eye lately for this crisp Friday. rugs

1  – West Elm  2 – IKEA  3 – Target
4 – Target  5 – Urban Outfitters  6 – CB2

What do we think, gang? I’m heavily favoring No.s 1, 2 & 5, but I think they’d all look great under that sexy-ass table.livingroom-5

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

1 Comment

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

