Fourth Trimester #MomStyle

momstyle_4th

It’s coming, friends. It’s just about a month until my due date, though I can’t possibly imagine myself getting any bigger (at my last appointment I was measuring at about 36cm, which is more or less dead on; my mom insists I only look about 6 months pregnant. Hey, I’ll take it). I’m fatigued on a daily basis and while sleep should offer respite, I wake up in so much discomfort in my hips. So, I’ve got the finish line in my sights, and thinking about what I’ll be wearing once baby arrives. I’m stoked to be having a baby in the fall; it’s still nice enough out for walks, and I get to be super cozy. Like, the coziest I can possibly imagine. I’m looking at mainly slouchy clothes in dark neutral colors, hopefully to conceal stains more and because I’ll still have a belly (and likely some – TMI – tenderness down below) for a few weeks afterwards. I also acknowledge that this mood board looks really Mommy Blogger-like.😭😭😭

Anyway. I want ways to continue to feel like myself even though my body will have been (and continue to be) put through the ringer. I’m not necessarily a woman who needs a shower or makeup every day to feel put-together, but having comfortable, snug and shapely clothes area  must to make me feel like a person.

  1. Truth be told, I have a lot of hoodies. A zip-up one would be more conducive to nursing too, but this just looked tooooo cozy to pass up on. It’s even called the Cozy pullover hoodie and it’s at Gap.
  2. I featured this diaper bag in my backpack roundup a couple weeks back, but it’s worth sharing in this post too. It’s just so damn chic. It looks nothing like a diaper bag, but it’s also super well made and – bonus! – comes with a little travel changing pad and straps to clip it to your stroller.
  3. A cozy cardigan will be clutch for loafing around the house with little one. It’s even got pockets, which is amazing because I haven’t had front pockets since I started wearing maternity jeans. So nice to have a place to put my phone and spare pacifiers. And you can’t go wrong with thumb holes.
  4. NURSING: Of course, nursing tops are going to be crucial. I picked up a couple of these from Target. It’ll probably be the first thing I put on after giving birth (and after a shower… of course). For other nursing clothes, I allowed myself to splurge on one of these neat little shirts (and a pullover) from the Swedish company Boob. Bonus: the best nursing bra I’ve found is from a similarly named company Bamboobies.
  5. Comfortable shoes like these wool runners from New Zealand-based company All Birds will be great because I don’t need to wear socks with them (honestly huge plus) and they’re cushy and comfortable enough to wear for literally hours and hours. They’re basically slippers.
  6. I have a feeling these skinny joggers will be just what I need to bridge that gap between ultimate comfort and casual-cool. I want cozy pants, but I don’t want bagginess.
  7. Speaking of snug clothes, maternity leggings will still be very valuable in the weeks following birth. I’ll want some room down there, but I want to feel tight and secure as well.
  8. I have a zillion gray t-shirts, but none so soft, casual and feminine as this boxy tee from Alternative apparel.
  9. And once I feel I can wear jeans again, I’ll be sure to get some with stretch.

It’s worth mentioning that this wardrobe is doubling as my late-third trimester capsule wardrobe as well. With the temperatures finally dipped below 70, it’s become cozy central around here. Bonus “bump” pic:img_7253

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

