My Closet

CLOSET-6

After

A few weeks ago while I was gainfully unemployed and had a lot of time on my hands, I started to feel real nest-y and motivated to finally organize the closet in my office. I’ve long put it off. And I keep the doors closed, so I never have to see it. It’s one of those things you know you’ll have to do one day, like quitting smoking, but ehhh, not today.

CLOSET-3

Before

I’d spent many years since we moved in just accruing storage bins and crates. Every time I saw one (usually at Target) I’d snatch up a couple, because I might need them one day? You can never have too much storage miscellany. Things started to get unruly in the closet. Anything and everything I didn’t have use for in my office would be stuffed in there, without any further thought. It was beginning to stress me out. CLOSET-1CLOSET-4Plus, I had just bought another camera body and couldn’t really justify having this expensive equipment just sitting on a shelf in a closet. So I did a little research and found the ALGOT system from IKEA. It was super well priced and super customizable. I designed a little system and went to IKEA to get the parts. I also went to town on clearing the closet out. I aimed to get rid of at least 30% of its contents. CLOSET-14.jpgCLOSET-11CLOSET-17I even got rid of most of my old issues of Vita.mn, keeping only the issues whose cover stories I designed. 😖CLOSET-12I’m into these mesh baskets too which became a bag hutch.CLOSET-13CLOSET-18CLOSET-20A tinier mesh basket mounts nicely on top so I can put things like batteries, flash accessories, etc in there.

Big thank you to my cool husband who helped me install the whole system (basically: he installed it completely on his own, while I watched and offered moral support). He really Dad’d it up!

In a few years none of this will mean anything, because I’ll eventually have to relinquish my office once we have a second kid. Before then I’ll probably have to get rid of like, 100 more pounds of stuff. Until then, I keep the closet door open now, to admire my little organized oasis.

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

My Home, Office

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

