Breakfast of Champs

Image-1

Since starting my big lifestyle-altering regimen wherein I stop engaging in my vices and instead count calories, exercise and lose weight, I’ve started to go balls out on weekend brunch. Not as a means of rewarding myself, per se, but I think because I basically cut my calorie consumption in half and now pancakes sound awesome, in addition to bacon, eggs and hashbrowns.

And I was really beating myself up about this, too, until I discovered something magical on my trip to Colorado: My first full day there. I had a tiny breakfast. Like, a half cup of frosted flakes and a mini V8. I then hiked for about 2.5 hours and felt pretty ok. I was sort of disappointed though that the fitbit didn’t show me burning more calories. I felt like I’d busted my ass (to be fair though, I get disappointed these days if I don’t burn 2000 calories before noon. The price of being a perfectionist lol not really) only to put what seemed like a regular day’s worth of activities in, rather than strenuous activities. The next day, I wanted a big breakfast, so I went to a restaurant and got bacon, eggs, hashbrowns AND a short stack on the side. I hadn’t really planned on doing any crazy exercise that day, but after that breakfast I figured I should at least try to take a low key walk to burn some of those calories off.

The walk I took was more brief and half of it was completely downhill, but I burned either as many or more than the calories I’d burned the day before. And I thought huh, that’s interesting. Here’s my guess: the huge breakfast loaded me up with carbohydrates which my body went into overdrive to convert to energy and thus, burn more calories. So while my workout was slightly shorter and less strenuous, overall it was more effective at burning fat. So now, every weekend Alan and I get a BIG OLE BREAKFAST at whatever place, and then immediately follow it up with a walk. Above is hashbrowns, eggs and bacon and a belgian waffle (with butter and syrup) on the side from Longfellow Grill, right on the Mississippi River. I refuse to feel guilty about stuffing my face full of breakfast-y goodness because afterwards we took a 2 hour walk. Screen Shot 2015-11-03 at 12.05.24Good way to not let Halloween ruin you.

Conversely last Sunday I ate a sort of big breakfast with friends, and then sat around for an hour afterwards while we socialized. I took a walk 3-4 hours after that and burning calories was a s-t-r-u-g-g-l-e.

Moral of the story: Eat food. Convert that food to energy. Burn calories.

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Getting Fit, Health

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

