THEEND

I started working at the Star Tribune in February of 2013, after a long, almost oppressive, bout of unemployment. Boy that sure destroyed my confidence. But being hired at the Star Tribune? Turned that shit right around. Somehow I had impressed with what little experience (let that read: zero editorial design experience) I had AND it was the very company my parents had met and worked at (they still work there). A true institution in journalism. I started by designing Strib Express, which is just an advertising vessel for recycled content. Man I hate StribEx! I also started as the third and lowest level designer of Vita.mn. I figured I would rise into a position of power. The Star Trib was a place you could grow. Art Directors came and left. I rose a little. But I had major issues with my productivity after a time, and I sank. I never became Art Director like I wanted, and Vita.mn shut down, and now I’m at City Pages, always Vita.mn’s chief rival in the alt weekly game (well, for like a couple years).

Saying goodbye is hard. But, after you’ve said goodbye a few times (like to the original Star Tribune building, above, or to beloved Vita.mn) in a year, it takes the sting off a bit. My time as a visual journalist is coming to a close {for now, although I fully expect to be hired as a freelance photographer}. It’s been a short run, but I would say, not at all inconsequential. In less than 3 years, I designed covers for Vita.mn, the Star Tribune AND City Pages. I’m the only one who can say that. I love newspaper design. Doing newspaper design taught me how to be a designer in real life. I thought I knew things before that, but I had barely scratched the surface. I learned from some rad people, many of whom have long gone. I had fun, and that’s how you get to have a career out of your hobby and not get sick of it.

Here’s the collection of my best Vita.mn covers and spreads, and a few select covers from various Star Tribune sections. And my two covers at CP:

cpcovers

I really covered all the bases.

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Career, Design, Work

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

