Let it fly in the breeze / And get caught in the trees

HAIR2Hair, amirite? I’ve had a pixie-ish haircut since July 2009. Before that, I had bland boring long-ish hair. Many of my most formative experiences I’ve had this hairstyle, more or less. And it’s worked well for me. Many people associate this hairstyle with me (which is a great compliment). I’ve worn it well I think. But back in May (May 31, to be exact. My anniversary), I realized that I hadn’t gotten a haircut in a long time (or if I had, it had only been a trim). I’d been thinking about growing it out. This hairstyle does have a lot of pitfalls for someone with extremely thin hair such as myself. It needs to be washed, like everyday, otherwise it’s stringy and has little kinks in it from sleeping. I hate this. I am not someone who loves to shower every day. My greatest wish is that I can wake up and immediately dress, and put my hair in a bun if it needs it. With my current hair that is not quite the case. In fact, with it growing out, it doesn’t have that problem as much these days. The longer hair makes it seem less greasy. Cool!HAIRI’m lucky that I have so much stupid fun with the camera on my computer, otherwise I wouldn’t have any other way to document the progress of my hair. In July I got a tiny trim on those little hairs in the back, and now they’ve grown out again. The weirdest part about this collage is how it shows how much gray I wear….

The thing that always kept me from growing out my hair though, besides it being a huge time commitment, is that in-between phase, which I’m experiencing right now. I’m trying to find different inspiration. HAIR-3The most ultimate inspiration though I’m taking lately is from Justine. Justine always. JUSTINEI can rock the “don’t care” long side bangs super well these days. It’s almost enough to keep the current length and go with that for a while. But I have high ambitions for the distant future:HAIR-4I shall be Norse beauty someday…. Someday….

If you have a short cut, and want it to be long: It gets better. The in-between phases are agony, but it grows out! Hair always grows out!

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Beauty, hair, Vanity

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

[…] Speaking of hair, I got my very first blowout yesterday. It was brought to my attention on Facebook. The Wow Bar was looking for short hair models. I was like, “yeah,” because it was free and I thought I could blog about it. Oh man. I had so many thoughts during this process. […]

