EXC bound

What do you guys got going on this weekend? Well since you asked, I’m having a pretty major one. I’ve been prepping for months now for the Eaux Claires festival, which sounds like it’s going to be pretty spectacular, and really special! I’m so stoked to be going to the inaugural event, AND I’ll be shooting it all for City Pages.

And I’m a little terrified. I’ve had dozens of nagging concerns in the back of my mind for a couple weeks now. 

What if I’m over encumbered with gear? What if my outfit doesn’t breathe well? What if it rains? What if my battery dies?

Luckily, I have thought of every possible scenario (though I’m not quite sure how bathroom breaks are going to work) and I’m prepared for every eventuality. 

Probably deciding to shoot Rock the Garden was the smartest move I could’ve made in anticipation for this weekend. 5 bands, 3 songs each left me absolutely wrecked, for a number of reasons: Unbreathable clothes (weird cotton-linen t-shirt and denim shorts, birkenstocks. blech), uncomfortable neck strap, basically one lens. Overall I had a pretty great time and I came up with some good stuff, but it had me seriously doubting my gear, which seemed very piddling compared to all the other photographers. PLUS, this was 5 bands. Eaux Claires is two days (meaning: a lot more bands). So in the last couple months, after I got my assignment, I’ve been tireless about accruing gear. I’ll share the whole experience on Monday. Have a great weekend!

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

