Moody Summer & Dreamy Blues

0609-1

I got some really nice reception on my tiny announcement the other day. Thanks to the well-wishers! It’s really scary embarking on new adventures, especially when you don’t know how easy/hard it will be. It’s good to have the support of people. Anyway. Yesterday was the hottest day so far, and for a while when I got home it looked like it was going to storm. We ended up only getting a few droplets in our neighborhood but there was a distinct atmosphere in the back yard, which is kind of small with lots of greenery right now. It was all closed in and full feeling. 0609-3 0609-5 0609-6
While messing around in Lightroom this weekend while I went through and re-processed my photos from Hawai’i, I came up with a perfect combination of presets to achieve this super dreamy affect. It’s a combination of VSCO and some screwing around. I named it “Dreamy Blues.”
0609-7
Since then I went through and re-processed my cabin photos from last year as well. The trick is bumping up the clarity slider a lot which is something I don’t do because it runs the risk of ending up in ShittyHDR. Somehow I found a way to marry all these different elements, especially the milky blacks and no grain. Mmmmm, so dreamy. I also came up with a different preset I decided to call “Moody Summer.” I want to think that those two presets kind of sum up my attitudes about photography and processing in general:
0609-8 0609-9 0609-10 0609-11 0609-12 0609-13 0609-14Dammit I love that super wide aperture.
0609-20And then we had some crazy clouds. I didn’t take a picture of the whole big sky, but it felt huge. Lots of layers. This is one of those events where everybody in the city will jump on instagram for.0609-26 0609-27
Oh yeah, dose Dreamy Blues.

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Photo

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

