Caroline Royce Photo

photowebsite3

This weekend was fairly productive, even if it was spent completely in front of the computer. I finally completed the main questline in Skyrim (I killed the SHIT out of Alduin, m-fers), and, I made myself a photography website.

I’ve wanted to do this for a long time, back when we got back from the Upper Peninsula, but I still felt that my processing technique was unrefined. I was learning, but I wasn’t ready. For me, processing the photos is just as important as taking them. I try to evoke certain feelings with them. I’m a designer after all. I don’t aim to represent reality, I try to make it dreamier, more ethereal, more moody.

You guys know. You’ve watched my stumble through this for the last 2 years. My family has certainly seen this better than anyone; with me taking pictures of trees every chance I get at the cabin. They’ve been helpful to point it out. Alan has been the most patient and supportive, many times even helping me get a good shot, whether by being taller than me, or having a fun idea. It’s an expensive hobby, but he clearly knows how much I love it.

But I also thought, why should I have a whole website? I know a lot of photographers. Way more photographers than I know designers. I felt like somehow I didn’t have the right. I mean, isn’t the world already saturated with laymen believing they can take photos? Hopefully I’m not just one of them. I spent more time researching a camera body than I did a car. I’ve spent.. A LOT of time researching lenses, and so far I just have the one (plus the other two that I started with). And plus, while I’ve loved sharing all my photos on this blog, I did feel that it was slightly disorganized, and I wanted a way to showcase some of these photos, because if I’m being honest, I really do think a lot of them are great.

I’m expanding my enterprise, not just to open up new business, not just because I can, but because I really truly want to. I feel like I have a thing I want to say. Thanks for looking at all my photos of flowers throughout the years, and the same landscapes over and over. You’ve helped me to grow.

www.carolineroycephoto.com

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

News, Photo

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

