Oh you pretty thing

Image-1

I probably don’t deserve this beauty, but she’s mine anyway. Months and months of research were put into finding the right camera body for me, and a solid, versatile lens that was right for the type of photography I get into. So I present: My Canon 70D (High ISO, large sensor, high standard for video recording, ~*A flip out LCD screen*~, and extreme intuitiveness) and the Sigma Art 18-35mm f/1.8, which is a thing of beauty in itself. It’s so incredibly solid, but at the same time delicate like a porcelain statue. Together they’ve already allowed me to enjoy photography 100 times more. The lens is slightly wider angle than I’ve had, and the 1.8 aperture is ideal (I’ve spared no words in expressing my happiness with the “Nifty Fifty“) for low light and extreme macro. The wide angle is good for landscape photography, which as it’s been documented, is my jam. So anyway, I of course had to test this out as soon as I possibly could, so I documented the environment of my workplace’s new digs (The Star Tribune moved buildings a few weeks ago to Downtown Proper).
IMG_5104
IMG_5110
IMG_5153
IMG_5209
IMG_5218
IMG_5228It was like baby’s first day out. This is a gorgeous piece of equipment but I’m also terrified of what could happen to it. The Sigma lens seems incredibly fragile to me. Maybe that’s because I’ve only ever had plastic lenses. But rest assured that this will be the best summer ever and *even more* photos of trees will come.

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Photo

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

