A Winter’s Tale

CRW_7455 CRW_7463About a month ago, we were tossing around ideas of a fun thing we could do while using up the last of our PTO, when Alan suggested we go to Lutsen. I’ve been talking about going to Lutsen for about two years!  I used to go with my church group every March from 2000-2006, and that was the last time I’d skied. Alan hadn’t skied in — to quote him — 25 years (so, almost as long as I’ve been alive). I was unaware that this is apparently not very high season for skiing. We got a great deal on hotel and ski passes, and beautiful weather, and hardly anybody was there the two days we skied. Annual trip? Uh, yes please.
In anticipation of the trip I did some research and bought myself this little backpack.  Friday was beautiful conditions but I didn’t want to deal with the bag so I left it until yesterday. It’s mostly inconvenient to have it, only because I have to stick my poles in the ground at the lift, swing the  bag around, get the poles back on, reverse the procedure on top, and etc… Plus if I *wanted* to take photos on the hills, I would’ve had to stop, stick my poles in the ground, again, get the camera out, blah blah… Suffice to say I did not take many photos on the slopes. I mean, I was there to ski (and I was happy to discover that skiing was a lot like riding a bike in that I picked it right back up after an almost 9 year lull). Luckily Lutsen is huge and while Alan was still a beginner, we still took the gondola over to the other mountain for lunch and views. A nice 10 minute ride in a sky car.
CRW_7465 CRW_7498 CRW_7493 CRW_7483 CRW_7478 CRW_7475 CRW_7466 CRW_7573 CRW_7566 CRW_7565 CRW_7563 CRW_7561 CRW_7551 CRW_7548 CRW_7546 CRW_7536 CRW_7526 CRW_7517 CRW_7516
My last run of the evening, I was riding up Eagle Mountain and the sunset was casting insane dramatic light on the mountain. Uhh, you know the opening scene in The Two Towers? It looked (EXACTLY) like that. If I felt at all confident to get out the camera during that ride up, I’d have some spectacular photographs. The shadows were *blue*. As luck would have it, I discovered a little lookout deck atop the mountain.
CRW_7585 CRW_7603 CRW_7598 CRW_7593 CRW_7592 CRW_7591 CRW_7590 CRW_7589 CRW_7588
Come on, isn’t that amazing? (Also, how  sketchy are those chairs?)
This was on my last run so I had to make it count, and I broke my rule about stopping to take photos. I was on a steep hill, that shit is scary. Especially when it’s getting dark.
CRW_7610 CRW_7611 CRW_7616
By the way, if you need an epic soundtrack for your picturesque ski journey in the mountains (well, “mountains”), obviously I recommend this.
I was hoping to have a wider angle lens for this trip (I bought one, but it was the wrong mount). I think I did ok with 28mm but 18mm would’ve been extra sweet.
CRW_7619 CRW_7622
CRW_7627
Our little hotel was right there on the mountain.  I remember riding the chairlift *over* this resort when I was younger with my dad and we could smell the hot tub wafting and we were sooo jealous. It was a great experience. An annual trip for sure.
CRW_7628 CRW_7639

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

