Live Transmission

CRW_7321I went out last night to “Live Transmission.” It’s like Transmission, the popular Minneapolis dance night, that I design posters for, except with live bands. Cool concept, right? Local bands with that “Transmission sound” (could be.. punk, new wave, brit pop, etc…) play a mixed set of originals and covers… A lot of Cure and New Order.
I knew from the moment I heard about it that it was going to be a great, awesome night. It also seemed like the right time to try my hand at concert photography, so I lugged my camera around for the night, and you know, it’s not too difficult. I thought it’d be hard to focus in such low light, but I got some advice ahead of time. You can actually  see in the progression of these photos how I improved throughout the night.CRW_7012 CRW_7022The RopeCRW_7060 CRW_7050Frankie TeardropCRW_7128 CRW_7147 CRW_7206 CRW_7204Two Harbors (They did one of my favorite covers of the night by starting off with The Stone Roses’ “I Wanna Be Adored.”)CRW_7212 CRW_7251 CRW_7250 CRW_7245 CRW_7243BNLX brought in fog machines.CRW_7291 CRW_7320 CRW_7295 CRW_7329 CRW_7330The Ocean Blue played a really excellent cover of Billy Idol’s “Eyes Without a Face” and it sounded very Beach House-y. Really beautiful.CRW_7373Jake: the DJ, MC, Curator and friend of Transmission.

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Music, Personal, Photo, Shows

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

