Game day Snacks: Creamy Onion Dip!

CRW_4140Well. Here we are. A recipe feature. A recurring opening to many of my posts lately is “Since getting married…” But it’s the super truth. After you get married, it’s great, you have all this free time and a buddy around the house to do stuff with! I’ve become a sort of Susie Homemaker all of a sudden. Cooking a lot more, cleaning like ALL the time. There are endless projects I want to tackle now that I’m not stressing over a wedding. Being married is also great for projects because you also have a taster and a model and an idea giver. The goal of being more a “Lifestyle Blogger” is not understood by many, but Alan, true champ he is, has been pretty much on board with every silly thing I want to blog  about, or every time I want to stop and take a picture. Thanks Alan!
CRW_4078Anyway. A recipe feature. As I’ve been cooking more lately, and sort of into making my own kind of everything (it’s so much more rewarding to make stuff from scratch than to buy it in a store), and because I have all these new appliances and cookware and serving dishes I just want to share it with everyone. Maybe like me, you have friends who like football. Football season comes, and every Sunday it’s just “whose house is it this week?”
CRW_4082We like entertaining. We like supplying way too many snacks too. I thought I’d start off with an easy Onion Dip I adapted from these two recipes with a little twist: fresh mint (also, I didn’t have cream cheese, but I totally had goat cheese which is way cooler). A little weird, right? I’ll explain where that came from eventually. BUT, I’m obsessed with mint lately. I’m not sure how much the prep time is, as I was too busy staging these photos, and it took me a much longer time to chop onions than I expected, because I’m totally susceptible to their evil.

INGREDIENTS
So, the recipe:
– 3 medium onions, chopped
– 2 Tblspoons olive oil
– 3/4 tsp kosher salt
– 1/2 cup sour cream
– 1/2 cup goat cheese
– 1/2 cup mayonnaise
– 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce
– 1/4 tsp white pepper
– 1/4 tsp black pepper
– 1/2 tsp garlic powder
– 1/3 juice from a lemon
– Fresh Mint

Directions are simple:
Heat oil in skillet, sautée onions and 1/4 tsp salt over medium-high heat until golden brown. They should look like this:
CRW_4099
I used the opportunity of these puppies frying up to get the cleaning up done. Just give them a quick toss every so often.
CRW_4100Next, after the onions have cooled a bit, throw them in a food processor, or blender, pulse them into a nice paste, then add the rest of your ingredients. Stick it in the fridge for a few hours to “set.”
CRW_4137And it’s really that simple! Serve with your preferred brand of potato chips (or if you run in a “healthy gameday snack crowd”, serve with veggies. Or both, who cares.

Bonus tip: You can use this exact recipe to make another equally delicious dip if you leave out the onions! Whaaa?

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Recipe

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

