Life List: Make a pizza from scratch

pizzaI finally got around to completing something off my Life List  and it’s a simple one, but a big one. Before the Summer started, one of my main goals was to make a pizza from scratch. Why? Because I had a new Stand Mixer I wanted to use, and I felt like it was a good thing to use. I also had a new immersion blender and food processor. Plus I love pizza. The plan was to buy all the ingredients (I wasn’t going to like, butcher my own meat, or make my own mozzarella, sorry) and make dough (which I’d never done before) and sauce (which I’ve done once, but it didn’t turn out well).
CRW_3262 CRW_3277
The dough: It was surprisingly simple to make, and I used this recipe.
CRW_3284 CRW_3288
For sauce I just kinda winged it. Usually, when I’m making pasta with store bought sauce, I always tend to add a bunch of herbs and spices anyway.
CRW_3279
I may have to come up with a recipe though because it was SO GOOD.
CRW_3301 CRW_3303 CRW_3306
I could’ve just eaten sauce all night.
CRW_3308 CRW_3311
Yeah, what do you think of that, I grated my own cheese.
CRW_3310
Alan fried up some little sausage balls.
CRW_3313CRW_3332CRW_3334CRW_3337CRW_3338
Neither of us has grilled a pizza before. It was actually not difficult, though our grill is built into the house (yeah!) and we don’t have a lid, so trying to get the cheese melted was a trial, and our little pizzas ended up with black bottoms.
CRW_3339
They were still excellent little pizzas! It was a whole day process though, which wasn’t necessarily too taxing, it was just time consuming and it created mess.

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Life List, Photo

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

