Wedding I: Calm before the storm

We were both feeling pretty calm the day of the wedding. We woke up together, went up the street to get the flowers, and kissed each other goodbye for a few hours. The only thing hanging over our head (besides getting married) was that there was a pretty much 100% chance it was going to rain at some point. He went off to the hotel we would be staying at that night to get ready with his groomsmen and I stayed at home with my bridesmaids.  All photos by Matt Lien!CarolineAlan_001CarolineAlan_009My dress is from ModCloth. I always knew I wasn’t going to want a big fussy dress. For a while the plan was to have my mom make it because I didn’t think I’d find the right one in a store. Then I saw this one from ModCloth and knew instantly. Within the week, I had it. And it was less than $200. The shoes are from Target which I just happened to come across one day, only a few weeks before the wedding. My little antler earrings are from this etsy shop, the cameo is a family heirloom (my something old AND borrowed I think), and the headwreath is from Bachmann’s, our local gardening giant. Our wedding theme was outdoorsy, campy, north-woodsy, Minnesota. I tried to go for “rustic” but without using kraft paper, burlap, twine, or mason jars. Surprisingly difficult!CarolineAlan_013CarolineAlan_026I did my hair and makeup myself. By sheer chance, I had a great hair day. It’s always a toss up. Thank you, Hair Gods.CarolineAlan_035CarolineAlan_037Arya was there too! She loved the garment bag my dress came in.CarolineAlan_039CarolineAlan_041CarolineAlan_044CarolineAlan_046CarolineAlan_047CarolineAlan_050I was feeling pretty chill. Not sure how or why, because I stress out over things. Although, not as much over time since meeting Alan.CarolineAlan_051CarolineAlan_055CarolineAlan_059CarolineAlan_061CarolineAlan_066CarolineAlan_068I was hoping Alan and his dudes would do something manly like drink nice whisky, and they did. So I was glad about that.

Next will be our First Look and a few family photos!

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

