Sunday Stool Rehab

STOOL-8262Two full years ago Alan and I were garage sailing and we found this little stool for 3 dollars. I wasn’t a fan of the chrome look, and the cushion had a tear in it, but it was 3 dollars, and I was unemployed at the time, and thought, “I could probably turn this into a sweet little stool!” Again, that was 2 years ago. Fancying myself a DIY person, but not really doing anything DIY ever was kind of the hurdle here. Yesterday I pulled the trigger though, on the Hottest Day Ever and in about 2 hours had a whole new stool. This is a pretty straight forward project. Just the right amount of challenge for a DIY newbie. stool1(I lent my DSLR out, so these are iphone pictures) I wanted to get a nice Matte Black finish, so I got a simple black satin spray. Make sure it cane be used on metal. The fabric is Marimekko, which is cool. I found it on Etsy probably more than a year ago, for this specific project. STOOL-8277Then you have to sand the whole base so the paint bonds better. That was more labor intensive.stool2I had some friends who were against me spray painting the base. Looks more modern this way I think. The paint I got was pretty good; it only took 25 minutes to dry. After one light coat (which they recommended at the hardware store) we went to see X-Men, because it was too damn hot out.STOOL-8287STOOL-8291STOOL-8296Voila.STOOL-8305I had to wake up the cat to stage this photo. :)

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

DIY, My Home

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

