The Living Room (pt. II)

Since the last time I documented the living room, I’ve upgraded cameras,  and the room itself. I’m declaring this the Most Perfect Room in the House, which is somewhat a feat. I love decorating and collecting things to make the house fit into the  “Minimalist Cabin” motif, but I’ve focused too much on one room and as a result, the rest of the house is cluttered.HAWAII-0431I’ve taken away most of the color. It didn’t jive with my theme, and I just am a way bigger fan of neutrals. In house terms, that’s mainly black and white patterns, exposed wood, and gray wools. Mm. HAWAII-0458 HAWAII-0439The little white guy is an urn, made by my Uncle Brad, who passed away last fall. He was an amazing artist and these urns were his most constant creation. My parents gave me one for Christmas. I love its simplicity.HAWAII-0454Gotta have a wicker basket with a big chunky blanket in it. You gotta.HAWAII-0440 HAWAII-0447Textiles… My greatest weakness. HAWAII-0441 HAWAII-0442 HAWAII-0461The coffee table has always been a work in progress.. I finally settled on wool coasters, a bunch of Dwells, a book about cabins, and this reclaimed wood cribbage board from the Summit Brewery. Isn’t it gorgeous?HAWAII-0434 HAWAII-0448 HAWAII-0449The credenza is a recent addition, and it’s truly what has brought the room together. That whole wall was a complete mess before. There was a bookcase, a side table, and a cabinet. We consolidated.HAWAII-0450 HAWAII-0451Finally became in possession of a working record player this last Christmas. One that may not have audiophiles drooling, but it does what I need it to do; look pretty and make sounds.HAWAII-0465In case I were to be accused of staging something that makes my life look well designed, I present the fire place, which has become a dumping ground for every small trinket. It’s been sadly neglected and I plan to do something about it… At some point…

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

