Honeymooners I: Wakin’ on a Pretty Day

Hey! I’d once entertained the idea of using my blog to talk about wedding planning and honeymoon packing… But I never did. The wedding has come and gone, and the photos will be here sometime in the future, but in the meantime I’ve got a whole slew of honeymoon photos. Alan and I had discussed the possibility of me not taking pictures of every single thing, but in the end he was pretty supportive of me taking pictures of every single goddamn thing.

(Note: You can click on these photos to make them big. Because they are quite big!)

HAWAII (11 of 820)

Well, first off, within hours of traveling, I’d already taken my best photo on the trip. Our connecting flight was in Seattle, meaning we get to fly over MOUNTAINS. After lakes and trees, my favorite nature thing is MOUNTAINS. I’m also a really massive fan of photographer Owen Perry (Circa 1983) so I was really thrilled to get a chance to take some sweet aerial shots. And I would get the opportunity later too!

HAWAII (5 of 820)HAWAII (1 of 1)Our honeymoon took place in Kona, on Hawai’i Island (the big island) in Hawai’i. They have their own brewery and we drank a bunch on the plane. Also, Alaska Airlines kinda blows.

HAWAII (1 of 1)-2We were originally going to stay in a mountain view room at the Sheraton Kona Resort, but we got upgraded to ocean view at last minute! Here’s the view from our balcony. We made coffee and sat out there most mornings, just chilling. Our internal clocks were all screwed up and we’d get up around 7  or 7:30 most days. Yuck.

HAWAII-9377HAWAII-9378 HAWAII-9380 HAWAII-9393 HAWAII-9391 HAWAII-9417 HAWAII-9425 HAWAII-9452 HAWAII-9459 HAWAII-9463 HAWAII-9465Side Note: I shot predominantly in RAW this whole trip (actually an accident) and as a result had to get a memory card reader, and decided to get a trial of Adobe Lightroom. LOVING these results, aren’t you??

HAWAII-9475HAWAII-9492Our first day there, we spent most of it drinking Kona Big Waves poolside, then went to a Luau the resort hosted. There were some interactive things like hula, {free drinking} and neato tattoos.

HAWAII-9494 HAWAII-9499 HAWAII-9503 HAWAII-9507 HAWAII-9526HAWAII-9553Not gonna lie. I’m a little put off by the Luau format. It was a celebration of many Polynesian cultures, but done in a way that felt cheap, like, hey you guys are playing Samoans now, put on these skirts. Hey you guys are Maori now, paint your faces. Having spent a bit of time in New Zealand some years back, I was simultaneously happy at seeing a mostly legit Haka again in the flesh, but, it left a sour taste in my mouth. Hawaiian food is good at least!

Still to come: The End of the road, helicopter tours, and stargazing on top of the The Tallest Mountain in the World. Stay tuned!

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

