Land of Sky Blue Waters

Well.

On Saturday we got back from a whole week of life Up North. Everybody in the Midwest should get to experience cabin culture at some point in their life. Especially if you live in Minnesota. Lakes, trees and fresh air everywhere. And loons. I’ll take you through the week. 0acabinOur cabin is actually rented, and in a “resort” (it’s like a really nice, sprawling, woodsy, non-trashy trailer park). It’s got a lodge, where there’s an arcade with old-skool games. This is my sister and her boyfriend.0bcabinOn Sundays there is a Bingo night in the lodge. Alan won one this year, and my sister’s BF split the blackout three ways, which is pretty cool I guess. 000cabinI was really excited by the fact that I’d just bought my first French Press and was mocked mercilessly for it. I also read Tina Fey’s book, which is hilarious.00cabinThe resort has a classic woodsmoke Sauna, overlooking the gorgeous small lake. aacabinNearby in Walker, we discovered a new Microbrewery, and went to the taproom on a chilly day with some cabin neighbors we’ve known forever. Alan and I walked away with a couple growlers, and some souvenir glassware. I love beer. So much.abcabinSince it was a chillier week, there was no shortage of fires, blasting that comforting smell of woodsmoke. azcabinS’mores… Naturally.ecabinI didn’t take many photos inside the cabin, but this one shows the high vaulted ceilings and the enormous windows which face the lake and let a ton of late afternoon sunshine in. icabinWe also got into some basketball and beach volleyball. lcabinAlan and I took a few bikerides, including one over to Walker, which is about 20 miles both ways. On the way there is this small lake, Lake May. It’s just nice and all tucked away. mcabinLeech Lake is significantly larger. It’s one of the biggest in the state. Walker is right on a bay and it feels like a little seaside town, making it one of the best small towns there is. ocabinSooo many hours spent on that volleyball court. pcabin

qcabinOne of the nice things about this annual trip is getting to spend so much time with my family (though to be clear I also highly value my alone time), including my little niece who just turned one. This is her and big sister in the cabin. scabinThe owners of the resort also are big into Hawaiian life, so.. Thursdays is always a “Potluck Luau” in the lodge. Pictured is little sister. tcabinI’m still learning how to use the DSLR, but a few lucky things happened while there; there was actually a photo class held for anyone at the resort to attend, and my good friend Anna who is a photographer, happened to be in the same town as me, which was a surprise, and having seen her for the first time in 3 months, she gave me some photo tips. Now I look at the (1400+) photos I took over the week, and can pinpoint when I got better after getting all this great advice. xcabinOne final time in Walker, which is our destination for Friday night dinner. The top photo makes it feel right out of the early nineties. We hit DQ afterwards. ycabinAh, and Leech Lake again. zcabinOur last morning, we left bright and early, and the lake was completely still and glassy. Mm, it’s my very favorite place in the world.

P.S. This is the Land of Sky Blue Waters (caution: some light racism)

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks

