Loving The Alien

BIRTHDAY_BOOK

I’d think that like many people my age, my first introduction to David Bowie was his portrayal as Jareth the Goblin King in Labyrinth. I watched that movie all the time when I was a kid. I thought he was totally creepy, and his not-very-modest costume didn’t help much.

Years later I was working my first job–a movie theater–where my older and cooler coworkers would talk about music. Good music too, and music that I would later discover myself and love. When they talked about David Bowie, I remember it seeming really bizarre. I couldn’t even begin to picture him as anything other than Creepy King Jareth.

I believe it was the fall of 2007 I got my first Bowie album– Ziggy Stardust (full title: The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars), which is probably the best album ever to start with, and now I consider it my favorite of his, if not his absolute best (That honor goes to Low).

In 2009 I started going to TRANSMISSION, which is a dance night in Minneapolis, specializing almost exclusively in 80’s punk, new wave, brit pop etc… All of which is influenced by Mr. Bowie. I’ve met many, MANY many David Bowie fanatics since then and even though I have nearly all his albums, and I know a ton about him, I’d still consider myself a moderate-level Bowie fan. If only compared to the people I know.

But his music is like nothing else. It’s interesting above all, but it’s also beautiful, different, emotional, dance-y, groovy, ethereal, and always innovative. His music has paved the way for people who think a little differently; a true trail blazer of music.

My good friend Tom gave me this book last week and I have to say, it’s just immaculate. FULL of these huge glossies of him and so many pictures I haven’t seen before.

Today is his birthday. I like to think though that he’s not from here, and this is just the anniversary of when he came to Earth. Someday he’ll leave, but he’ll always be amongst the stars. Probably.

BIRTHDAY

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Music

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

