Moodboard: Make Your House like a Cabin! (pt.1)

HOUSE-CABIN1. Pine Sap Candle, $40, shopterrain.com 2. Glowing Branches Table Lamp, $88, Anthropologie 3. Design House Stockholm Björk Stools, $260, Huset 4. Gran Black Pillow, $49, Fine Little Day 5. Natural Tree Stump Side Table, $199, West Elm 6. Curtis Storm Rocker, $249, CB2 7. Woods Wallpaper, $198, Anthropologie 8. Crimean Pinecone Lamp, $370-450, eekra 9. Lodge Stripe Throw, $134.50, Faribault Woolen Mill Co.

Since we moved into our house in September ’11, I’ve jumped around to a few different “themes” I wanted for it. I don’t think I’m the type of person capable of having every room in the house be completely different and–what would feel to me–unplanned. The house was built in 1962, and I do love Mid-Century Modern, so I tried going with that at first. I felt a certain detachment to that idea after a while… It didn’t feel like me.

Then, over this past Summer I had an awesome idea! I knew what I would do; something along the lines of “Rustic Minimalism.” I’ve lived in Minnesota my whole life and my most cherished yearly tradition is going “Up North” to the cabin. I wanted to live in a cabin all year round. I wanted my house to feel like a Modernist’s Cabin. Of course, It’s nowhere near that yet, but I love the feeling of purpose it gives me to have a plan for the house.

See more home-inspiration on Pinterest

About the Author

Posted by

Hi! I'm a graphic designer, photographer and female person. I live in Minneapolis with my husband Alan and our baby son Alexander and baby cat Arya.

Categories:

Design, Moodboard, My Home

3 Comments

I’d like to hang out at this cabin!! I really, really like this and I think it’s a great inspiration for your mid century home.

Add a Response

Your name, email address, and comment are required. We will not publish your email.

The following HTML tags can be used in the comment field: <a href="" title="" rel=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <pre> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Pinkgbacks & Trackbacks